Daily Prompt: License (sic) to drive?

I have been known to drive without a licence (UK); unwittingly, to be sure. On occasion I let it run out; not noticing when I should have renewed it, although it is a month to the day after my birthday. Now I’m over 75 (a long way over!) the American license has to be renewed every year. Incidentally, over here it is a license – they don’t differentiate between the noun (licence) and the verb (license) as the Brits do. I wonder why?

We were signing up for a hire car and my PA said “My wife will be the second driver.” I handed over my driving license (US) only to be told “This has expired.” Blush. Guess who had to do all the driving that trip?

We were abroad when it ran out last time, but I had my British licence (UK) which was still valid. The first thing we did when we got back to the States at the end of December was to visit the MVD – Motor Vehicle Department. At the main office the renewal is free, but the privately run ‘express’ ones charge about $15. Their motto is “Why wait?” and my PA always goes to one of those. He doesn’t like waiting around.

This time we not only had to wait, but we then discovered that new rules had come in that November. Of course, they can’t warn you personally but we weren’t around to read about it in the paper. So when our turn finally came, we learned I now had to show my official Social Security card (I knew the number but that wouldn’t do), and my birth certificate or passport, and also proof of current residency at our home of 30 years.

So back home we went to search for the SS card – put away for safety last June, but thankfully I found it first place I looked. I took it with my passport and a utility bill dug out from the 6 months of mail awaiting attention. But that wasn’t enough. We needed two proofs. So back home to dig out another one and for the third time, back to the MVD. And of course, my PA had to do all the driving.

A new photo was taken, a written test done on the office computer, and finally I was done, having spent the entire morning going back and forth; very frustrating. “Why wait?” indeed. But at least I would now be able to drive.

I was so glad it was over I didn’t check the temporary paper license (US) they give you while the real laminated license (US) is being produced. About two weeks later the license (US) arrived; I was very pleased, until I noticed there was a W beside the (which means I have to wear glasses when I drive). That puzzled me until I saw “Restricted Driving License.” That means you cannot use the ID for getting on a plane.

This really bugged me. I realized (US) that illegal immigrants getting US driving licenses for ID purposes is a very controversial item these days, but hey, I’m nothing if not legal.

So back to the MVD, and another wait. Human error, they said. Luckily for her the gal who dealt with me the first time was not there to vent my annoyance upon. Another long-winded effort, waiting for the supervisor to help sort out the mistake, and a new photo to be taken; at least, I didn’t have to go through the whole shebang again, and I went away with a new temporary license (US) – unrestricted.

All’s well that ends well. I now have a valid driving license (US). So after all that I am now legally licensed (US & UK) to drive. Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: License (sic) to drive?

    1. Yes, it seems so many new rules have come in since You-Know-Who got elected. We never know what will crop up next. Add to that Brexit; with me being a dual citizen, I have to watch what’s happening over there too. Visas to go see my Swedish grandsons? Ah, me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

