One Word Photo Challenge – Bed

http://jennifernicholewells.com/2016/03/01/one-word-photo-challenge-bed/

Rental pics 2015 (3)

Our bed is a California King – has to fit my long PA, though I can fit into any size bed.

What a lot of stories this room holds, not only on the bookshelves. There’s another wall of shelves on the left which has even more books in it. (He has weeded out and given away about 500 already. And my study has three full bookcases – we are really book people.)

When we were courting I visited him in NM, and spent an afternoon looking through his books. At first I could see only a University professor’s text-books- Shakespeare, George Eliot, Jane Austen, D H Lawrence, and writers and poets I hadn’t even heard of. Shelves full of each author. In the living room there is a whole floor-to-ceiling of Ezra Pound, for goodness sake.

I’m not sure I can handle Academia, I thought. Intelligent I am, intellectual I’m not.

But eventually I saw others there, novels by Tony Hillerman, Michael McMurtry, a funny book by Bill Cosby, and lots and lots of vinyl records of rock and folk groups, so maybe I could marry the guy and move to New Mexico from London.

And I am so glad I did. I’ve been reading the books, and we’ve traveled together to many parts, bringing back additions to the decor from everywhere.

The quilted bedspread we saw in Savannah, liked, and ordered one for ourselves. The wall hanging is a “Matrimonio” weaving from Lago Titikaka, Peru. The chair and chest came from Florida after Pop Pop Witemeyer died; we drove home the 23′ Uhaul full of furniture and after two days felt like real Truckers. The black micaceous bowl was made by Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo potter, Clarence Cruz, a friend.

And the little white heart was made for our 25th anniversary by an English quilter friend who was at our wedding in London in 1987.

summer bedding

This heart has our initials and the date quilted on it. It’s a good ‘caption’ for The Bed.

3 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge – Bed

  1. Well done, Hugh, slimming down your library. We’re moving seven bookcases full off the landings for new carpeting next Tuesday. Happy Easter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

