MAKING A (CORN) MEAL OF IT

Thinking we were nearly out, I bought a 2lb bag of cornmeal, only to discover the “flour” I thought I had in the cupboard was really a 5lb bag of cornmeal, so now that’s featuring in a lot of our meals!

Our favorite is cornbread which I cook for 8 minutes in the microwave; doesn’t have a crisp brown crust that 25 minutes in the oven produces, but is great for someone like me who is always cooking at the last minute. It is especially good when I substitute half a cup of blue cornmeal which gives it an interesting color and taste. Great to take to my Pueblo Indian friends on feast days.

I found an old Cooking Club mag recipe for Baked Polenta with Parmesan Cheese, although I used Cheddar; it was very successful. If you boil cornmeal/polenta in a saucepan it spits like the dickens; this way it cooks in the oven without a mess.

Baked Polenta with Parmesan Cheese

Oven 375 F. Grease 1 quart shallow glass or ceramic baking dish. Mix together, 1 1/2 cups water, 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1 tsp coarse salt in baking dish (I did it in a measuring jug and poured it in while on the oven shelf).

Bake 1/2 an hour or so; remove from oven and whisk to combine; whisk in 1/4 cup grated cheese and 1 TB unsalted butter. Smooth top and sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup cheese. 

Bake additional 10 mins or until cheese is melted and top is lightly browned.

This is half the original recipe but it filled my 12″x 1″ glass pan. We enjoyed it that evening for supper, and the remainder set nicely, so I cubed it to use as gnocci or whatever the next day.

I was so pleased with the result I would have sent it in as the Cooking Club’s Flashback section, but alas, the organization has disappeared, and the Internet is full of disappointed people complaining. A pity as it was a good source of recipes and tips, and lots of contests which I sometimes won.

Ah well, there are lots of alternatives with good recipes, and YayYay’s Kitchen is one of them. http://yayyayskitchen.com/2016/01/21/when-cooking-goes-stale/?c=537#comment-537

 

3 thoughts on “MAKING A (CORN) MEAL OF IT

  1. Hi Barb. Thanks so much for linking to my blog! I hope you don’t mind, but I thought you might like this short tutorial on making links in WordPress. It’s really easy to follow their instructions. Here’s the link: https://en.support.wordpress.com/links/. Btw, the link you made to my blog goes to the comment section. If you delete everything in the URL after the last slash (from the question mark, on), you’ll link to the post itself. Let me know if this works for you, and feel free to delete this comment. I’ll come back and leave a proper one later. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kathryn, for that good advice. I will get it straight one of these days. But at least I’m on the right track. Sorry to put all this (longer than usual) blog on your comments; I’ll do better next time. I’m not trashing your message as it is so helpful, and I may want to go back to it. Barb

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

