Who’s Hugh? – Morphing prompt

Many’s the time showing a new possession to a friend I’ve said “Hugh gave it to me” only to be told: “No, I didn’t.” The “H” sound doesn’t come over loud and clear enough.

It’s a very old and honorable name; Sir Hugh was a Knight of the Round Table. There is a Saint Hugh of Lincoln Cathedral in England.

But the name presents difficulties for some people – in Germany we have to say it is “Hugo” or they can’t seem to pronounce it. It is that ‘aitch’ – is it silent or not?

So my PA has to answer to several variations; one of my sons calls him “Hug” which I really like. I find the space between my brain and fingers has me typing his name as “Huge” which, incidentally, is not a bad description.

With apologies to George Olsen, I sing “Hugh stole my heart away” instead of “Who.” It embarrasses himself but I think he likes it.

The ‘aitch’ in Cockney English  – think of Eliza Doolittle’s father – is often dropped as in “I’ll ‘ave ‘alf a pint a bittas, if you please.” (notice the ‘er’ becomes a short ‘a’) And the Cockney Alphabet starts with: A for ‘orses, and then, H for scratching (think about it).

Why do people say ‘an hotel’?  We don’t say ‘an house’; and I refuse to drop the ‘aitch’ in herb as they do in the USA when talking about seasoning. The name, after all, isn’t ‘erbert, is it?

That’s enough; I don’t have any “more fings” to say about that Haitch.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Who’s Hugh? – Morphing prompt

  1. Oh the dilemmas of English, both language and spelling! I am now confronted by yet more idiosynchrasies with “Hiberno English” i.e. the Irish version. It seems that the addition of an “h” in front of aitch comes from when people say haitch and it’s common in Liverpool too…where there has been a large Irish diaspora since the famine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

