IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME – Daily Blog

I would need to have been a different person. But even so, would my first husband have stayed with me? Would I have realized that one son was dyslexic (we didn’t even know that existed in those days) and gotten him help? Would I have noticed that another son wasn’t being slow; he really couldn’t see? I did get help for him, eventually. Would I have helped my eldest son to understand how life works? Would I have had the gumption to leave my second husband before he wrecked not only our house but our lives?

But then, if I hadn’t lived through all those traumas, I wouldn’t have been the person I was when my third – my very last and most wonderful – husband came along. The past made me what I was, and what he fell in love with. And what I learned along the hard roads, has made this road easier to follow. The boys grew up strong and beautiful. What I can’t change I don’t worry about. What is important, I deal with.

My favorite nursery rhyme goes:

For every trouble under the sun, there is a remedy or there is none. If there be one, try and find it; if there be none, never mind it.

So for my own life, no; I wouldn’t turn back time.

Unless I could have made the early days happier.  I would also have asked my mother and father to tell me the stories of their lives.

I urge you to share your stories with your family now; before it is too late.

 

 

 

One thought on “IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME – Daily Blog

Leave a Reply

