#28 I NEVER WENT TO KINDERGARTEN

28 I NEVER WENT TO KINDERGARTEN

Who coined that phrase “Everything I needed to know I learned in Kindergarten”?

Or words to that effect?

I never went to kindergarten, and it seems to me that there are a lot of very basic things that I have only learned in later life.

I mean, now that I am old (did I actually admit that?)

Such as: I used to put my hand under the running water to test if it was hot, needing to dry it every time; now I feel the tap itself.

Such as: Hamlet’s soliloquy. Would you believe that, until I saw a modern version about 10 years ago where Hamlet held a pistol to his head, I didn’t understand he was contemplating suicide. I mean, honestly!

Such as: If you click on Ctrl+N instead of Shift+N you get a new, blank page, and your writings have not totally disappeared. Took me a long time to realize I didn’t have to retype everything, and what a relief that was.

Which brings me to TEENIORS. This is a marvellous group of young people (Teens) who help us oldies (Seniors) with technical problems. What a great idea.

Would that I had one over my shoulder whenever I do something by accident and don’t know what, so I can’t correct it.

I’m still needing help with new jargon, such as pingbacks; and I don’t have a smart phone – yet. But perhaps now that I am in my ‘second childhood’ I will learn all those things I didn’t know I needed to know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

