In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Secret Admirers.”

Oh, I wish they wouldn’t! Cut flowers do not like me and just go gooey and smelly in the vase. I add the proper powders and cut off the bottom leaves, but nonetheless they fade and die, usually unmourned by me.

And those expensive red rose buds just last a day and then hang their heads and never open – or smell good. So I can’t even break them up for potpourri.

Even potted mums or daisies don’t last more than a few days. And I feel guilty throwing them out.

But the green houseplants in the hall are doing fine, and so is the orchid. My friend said: Every house should have an orchid. And there it is, a blooming miracle.

So even if the thought of sending a bouquet of flowers was romantic, the gift didn’t live up to the giver’s intent.

Next time just send dark chocolate, please.

Leave a Reply

