In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Million-Dollar Question.”

How do I get people to read my blog when the title doesn’t engage them?

At my 80th birthday party, one of my sons suggested having a blog might lead to some correspondence with people out in cyberspace. The ones I want to contact would know about early sound or had relatives who worked in the Bell Labs in the 20s and 30s or just know the Talking Picture industry. I’m writing a biography of my father, Stanley Watkins, who was the first sound man but he was behind the scenes so isn’t visible on IMdb sites.

So I went to a Blogging Class! I have learned how to start a site, and am now hooked, but I haven’t yet decided on a good hook for my blog; one that will bring in the engineers, sound people, movie folk, telephone pioneers, etc., for a chat.

Meanwhile I’m busy writing a blog-a-day this month; all different topics, and all under the latest title of my site: stanwatkins – so nobody knows how to access the NoBloPoMo posts.

I will keep blogging and look forward to every comment, even those I cannot understand.

Leave a Reply

